ARC REVIEW: the raven and the dove, by kaitlyn davis

♡ this book was provided to me by the author and publisher via netgalley in exchange of an honest review. this doesn’t affect my opinion in any way. ♡

♡ The Raven and the Dove (The Raven and the Dove #1), by Kaitlyn Davis

Published by Kaitlyn Davis Mosca (March 9th, 2020)

Genre: YA Fantasy, Romance, High Fantasy

Goodreads

★★★★☆

Four fates collide in this avian-inspired, epic fantasy retelling of Tristan and Isolde perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir, and Leigh Bardugo!

A princess longing to be free…

On the dawn of her courtship trials, Princess Lyana Aethionus knows she should be focused on winning her perfect mate, yet her thoughts wander to the open sky waiting at the edge of her floating kingdom. One final adventure calls. Upon fleeing the palace, the last thing she expects to find is a raven prince locked in a death match with a dragon.

A bastard aching to belong…

Reviled son of a dead king, Rafe would do anything for his beloved half-brother, Prince Lysander Taetanus, including posing as him in the upcoming courtship trials. When a dragon interrupts their secret exchange, he orders his studious sibling to run. After suffering a fatal blow, Rafe is saved by a beautiful dove who possesses forbidden magic, just like him.

Fate brought them together, now destiny will tear them apart…

Unknown to the world above, on the foggy sea ten thousand feet below, a young king fights a forgotten war. He believes Lyana is the queen prophesied to save the world, and with the help of his favored spy, hidden deep in the highest ranks of the dove royal house, he will stop at nothing to have her.

Three shocking betrayals. Two star-crossed lovers. One unforgettable journey. If you like fierce heroines, brooding heroes, forbidden romance, and action-packed magical adventures with twists you’ll never see coming, don’t miss The Raven and the Dove!

The Raven and the Dove is the kind of novel that swoops you in so gently you wouldn’t feel it until you’ve read 300 pages in one sitting and are left not knowing what time is it or how to behave in the real world.

while i was excited for this book, i did not expect to like it as much as i did. all i knew about it what that it was a high fantasy retelling of Tristan and Isolde. i discovered that it is that, and more.

the plot was not only well-executed, but also developping in a gripping way: not to slow to feel bored but also not too fast to feel overwhelmed. i found it just the right pace, and the world-building was thouroughly explained and not thrown at you all at once, that way the reader assimilates all the information and understands the story, making it easy to feel closer to the story and its characters.

while some of the side-characters felt a little flat, most of the main ones were complex and mysterious, and made me want to discover what would happen to them next. their development was well executed, the chemistery between them didn’t feel forced, nor did the romance. speaking of romance, i liked how it felt like a crescendo going up and up until the two characters hit a climax.

(yes, feed me all the slow-burn-hitting-a-climax romance, i am a slave for it.)

but i think what made the novel enjoyable the most was the writing. kaitlyn davis captures feelings and images in a way that makes you believe you’re the one living them, not the characters. and that’s beautiful, i was in awe the whole time.

in conclusion, this magical book was worth the try, and rekindled my relationship with fantasy (which i had not picked up/enjoyed in years), i highly recommend it if you’re looking for something beautifully written, or if fantasy isn’t something you read a lot of!

are you excited for THE RAVEN AND THE DOVE?

2 Replies to “ARC REVIEW: the raven and the dove, by kaitlyn davis”

  1. Eeekk I’ve been waiting for a review to read of this book and you just came here to serve! I’m really happy you enjoyed it. I was a little wary about wanting to read it but it sounds fun and like a palette cleanser before diving back into high epic fantasy! plus, I’ve been loving romances lately sooo this is totally a plus ❤️❤️

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s