REVIEW: the worst best man, by mia sosa

♡ The Worst Best Man, by Mia Sosa

Published by Avon (February 4th, 2020)

Genre: Adult Contemporary, Romance, Fiction

Goodreads

★★★★☆

Critically acclaimed author Mia Sosa delivers a sassy, steamy enemies-to-lovers romantic comedy about a woman whose new job requires her to work side-by-side with the best man who ruined her wedding: her ex-fiancé’s infuriating, irritating, annoyingly handsome brother. Perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory, Helen Hoang, and Sally Thorne!

A wedding planner left at the altar. Yeah, the irony isn’t lost on Carolina Santos, either. But despite that embarrassing blip from her past, Lina’s managed to make other people’s dreams come true as a top-tier wedding coordinator in DC. After impressing an influential guest, she’s offered an opportunity that could change her life. There’s just one hitch… she has to collaborate with the best (make that worst) man from her own failed nuptials.

Tired of living in his older brother’s shadow, marketing expert Max Hartley is determined to make his mark with a coveted hotel client looking to expand its brand. Then he learns he’ll be working with his brother’s whip-smart, stunning—absolutely off-limits—ex-fiancée. And she loathes him.

If they can survive the next few weeks and nail their presentation without killing each other, they’ll both come out ahead. Except Max has been public enemy number one ever since he encouraged his brother to jilt the bride, and Lina’s ready to dish out a little payback of her own.

But even the best laid plans can go awry, and soon Lina and Max discover animosity may not be the only emotion creating sparks between them. Still, this star-crossed couple can never be more than temporary playmates because Lina isn’t interested in falling in love and Max refuses to play runner-up to his brother ever again…

while THE WORST BEST MAN wasn’t a book that grabbed my attention when i first heard of it, it certainly did while i was reading it (or listening to it).

the story follows carolina three years after the man she was supposed to marry leaves her at the altar, when she meets the man’s brother, max, who encouraged her ex-fiancé to cancel said wedding. the two (lina and max) have to team up when she gets an opportunity at her dream job.

the thing about this book is that i could not stop reading it. i have read these kind of stories a million times and i could read a million more if i could; i never get tired of it. i mean, ennemies-to-lovers with history between them that makes it complicated? two lovers who aren’t supposed to be together? SIGN ME UP.

and the plot? it delivered. while it was boring a tiny little bit in one tiny little part, the romance developed smoothly and fluidly. and it was FUNNY. i found myself laughing hard at some scenes. the humour was exactly what i needed, and didn’t feel forced at all. the story was fluffy yet had strong messages with it, about immigration and hard-working women.

in fact, the main character is brazilian. her mother and aunts came to the US before she was born. and i’m not in position to say anything about the ethnic representation, but i loved the family’s dynamic, and how they stick up for each other through thick and thin. not only that, but i loved that the book tackled the issue of women discrimination in the working industry.

in general, i liked how most of the characters weren’t two-dimensioned. they had depth, and felt more like real people rather than fictional characters. what i didn’t like, however, is that the ex-fiancé, andrew, felt more like a bad character here exclusively to screw up the main characters’ lives, and i felt like he had no other role. he was only here to be a “bad” character, you know?

to sum up, THE WORST BEST MAN was certainly the most fun i had reading a book in a while (if you’ve been following me for a while, you’d know that this year didn’t begin well, reading wise). i highly recommend it for a lazy sunday, or when you’re in the mood for a great, funny rom-com!

have you read THE WORST BEST MAN? what was the last rom-com you’ve read? did you like it?

10 Replies to “REVIEW: the worst best man, by mia sosa”

  1. maha you sure know how to make someone excited for a book. I usually don’t like picking up romances, but I feel like reading this one now. weird. but if I ever find it on scribd as an ebook or at my library, I’ll make sure to pick it up and read it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so excited to find someone else who’s read this book!! I loved it for all the reasons you mentioned and I completely agree about Andrew. I mean it made it easier to root for Lina and Max to be together, but I wanted just a little more from him besides being the wrecking ball? Anyway, I loved your review!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s